By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Quilting question from a new (ish) quilter

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Cat Dalton19/08/2014 13:21:59
6 forum posts
4 photos

Hi everyone,

I have been subscribing to PP for 18 months now and been making patchwork quilts for just a little longer. I have mainly made baby quilts plus a couple of single bed quilts as Christmas presents.

My current project is a memory quilt for my aunt using some of her late husbands shirts. I have made a bed runner using the slanted star method and backed it with unbleached flannel, however I am having a quilting dilemma.

I have 14 stars (in pairs) along the quilt however and have started my quilting by going around each star once (in the ditch). I would like to try and echo the stars a couple more times, however I would like to do this on the back rather than the front so I can see the outline from my previous star better.

Will this work okay, or should I stick to quilting the front?

I normally only quilt in the ditch and this would be my first attempt at echo quilting. I am currently using a walking foot as I haven't mastered free style quilting yet.

Margaret S19/08/2014 20:34:05
4027 forum posts
759 photos

Hi Cat

Welcome to the Forum. Enjoy looking around.

It is certainly possible to quilt from the back. Sometimes it is done when you want to follow a pretty design on the backing fabric or have a thicker thread in the bobbin for surface embellishment on the quilt top.

In your case you would need to check that you have a perfect tension and that your shirt fabrics would not move and form tucks when you are quilting. It may be a bit ambitious for a newish quilter. I don't know what your walking foot is like but on my Pfaff I use my 1/4" foot with the IDT(walking foot mechanism) engaged and run this along the previous quilting line.