By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Patchwork and quilting software

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Marion Smith16/06/2008 20:34:00
3 forum posts
I'm fairly new to quilting and have a quilt designed in my mind but I need to set pen to paper.  I wonder if anybody has used quilting software?  If so, how do you find it.  It seems to me to be a really good idea but would love some feedback before I invest.
Alison17/06/2008 10:47:00
1833 forum posts
237 photos
1 articles

Marion,

I use Quilt Pro 5 to help design quilts, it does everything I need to get an idea of what the quilt will look like when finished. It will calculate how much material you need to buy, but I find that it is best to use this as a guide, I like to have more than enough just in case.

It has a library of blocks and drawing your own is easy with a little practise.

There is also a fabric library to which you can add your own fabric if you want, provided you have a scanner. 

I  enjoy English paper piecing, and the template part of the program allows me to print pages of templates which are ready to cut and use, no more drawing around plastic templates, it saves so much time.

The program does many other things as well, which I haven't got round to using yet.

Hope this helps,

Alison. 

Marion Smith17/06/2008 10:54:00
3 forum posts
That's great, thanks Alison
Caz17/06/2008 19:06:00
2545 forum posts
273 photos

Marion, as a newbie I use Quilt Wizard which, compared to quilt pro 5, is very basic. It has a limited library of blocks and fabrics, but it gives you printable instructions for quilts.

Caz.  

Marion Smith17/06/2008 19:51:00
3 forum posts

Thanks Caz.  I've just order Quilt Pro 5, so I'm looking forward to receiving it so I can plan my next quilt!

Marion

Liz Bonsell04/08/2008 14:27:00
3 forum posts