By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

free motion

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Patricia Fox 128/01/2016 11:40:38
14 forum posts

I have two Janome machines. A DC3050 and a Gem 760.

Desperately trying to do free motion on a quilt using a Janomem Open Toe darning foot.

Front not too bad and maybe with practice I could get something ' nearly' decent'.

However the back is dreadful. Great big bunched up patches of cotton.

Can anybody help please

Carol B28/01/2016 12:05:15
3002 forum posts
776 photos
2 articles

Hi Patricia,

welcome to the forum.

I am still a relative beginner at FMQ but here are a few suggestions which you could look at,

The needle tension may be too loose

Are your upper and lower threads compatible with each other and your machine, (I have a Janome and it can be fussy about the type of threads I use)

This youtube item may help

**LINK**

I am sure some of the FMQ experts on the forum will have more ideas for you

Good luck, Carol Bface 23

Katy28/01/2016 12:38:21
8902 forum posts
5365 photos
898 articles

Hi Patricia

I'm no expert at FMQ either, but it does sound like the top tension is too loose, or it might just be that you haven't settled into a quilting rhythm.

Have you set the stitch length to 0? Try a practice piece using the same top and bottom fabric and wadding and threads, and adjust the top tension until you get the result you want. I personally like to keep the feed dogs up, but most people don't, so you can try that too. You don't want to have the machine running too fast, which I do quite often, so try and relax a bit (impossible for me!)

Eileen Heathorn28/01/2016 17:03:09
365 forum posts
34 photos

Hi Patricia

Try Leah Day website lots of information and videos. Agree with Katy set stitch length t 0 and keep feed dogs up. Make up some quilt sandwiches to practice on rather than start on your quilt. Hope this helps.

Regards E

Lexy28/01/2016 17:55:15