By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Washing fabrics

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Chloe03/06/2008 09:36:00
5 forum posts

Hi

I'm very new to quilting (and sewing) and have a real beginner's question.  The instructions for the projects in PP all say to wash and press fabrics before using them - why do they need washing?  Also, when do you wash them?  When you've bought them or just before you use them?

Thanks, Chloe. 

Katy03/06/2008 09:54:00
8902 forum posts
5365 photos
898 articles

Hello Chloe!

Most people wash their fabrics before using them for a number of reasons. Firstly, fabrics may shrink when you've washed them, and you really wouldn't want your freshly made quilt to pucker nastily the first time you wash it. Different fabrics will shrink at different rates, which would cause problems. Washing them before you start means the shrinkage has happened before you piece your quilt. The same goes for dye run, it would be awful to take months over making  a quilt, only for the dye to bleed from one fabric to another. Also some fabrics have a chemical finish on the surface, which you can feel, and you may want to remove that by washing before you start. When you come to quilting, the finish on the fabric may also cause problems. Pressing your fabric is very important, it is very hard to accurately cut, piece or quilt a wrinkly piece of fabric.

It would probably be sensible to wash your fabric just after you've bought it, as then it would be ready whenever you needed it, but I never have. I usually wash it when I'm about to make something. But I will admit that occasionally I have just started sewing, because I was too impatient to start! I haven't washed bought precut pieces, like jelly rolls. I don't know if other quilters do. I would be a bit worried about them fraying badly. I stopped washing small charm squares for that reason. So as usual it is down to personal choice.